Elections 2021

National Friends of the Earth has produced a pledge for all candidates in the election on 6 May to sign, committing them to work to ensure implementation of a Climate Action plan. Those who have done so are listed below, with the wards where they are standing and their parties. This list will be updated when others sign.

Both SCC and EBC have produced Climate Action Plans, which are available on their websites. But councillors must ensure that they are carried out.


Surrey County Council

To see the pledge, click here.

Greg Knowles, Dittons, Green

David Gattey, Dittons, Lib Dem

Mike Bennison, Hinchley Wood, Claygate and Oxshott, Reform

Peter Ashurst, Walton, Labour

Jeremy Brown, Hersham, Labour

Laura Harmour, East Molesey and Esher, Green



Elmbridge Borough Council

To see the pledge, click here.

Greg Knowles, Long Ditton, Green

Martin Clark, Thames Ditton, Green

David Gattey, Thames Ditton, Lib Dem (photo below)


Geoff Herbert, Hinchley Wood and Weston Green, Conservative

Mike Bennison, Cobham and Downside, Reform

Elina Simanovits, Walton Central, Labour (photo below)


Carolyn Gray, Oxshott and Stoke D'Abernon, Labour

Lisa Howard, Molesey East, Green

Hadleigh Moon, Claygate, Labour (photo below)


Rosie Rendall, Molesey East, Labour

Peter Ashurst, Walton North, Labour

David Sheldrake, Molesey West, Labour

Jeremy Brown, Hersham Village, Labour


Unfortunately none of these candidates were elected.